Life Lines by Dr. Dolittle

Sponsored by the American Physiological Society

2018 Winners

I am pleased to showcase this year’s Comparative and Evolutionary Physiology Section (CEPS)  award recipients at the Experimental Biology conference. Winners received their awards at the CEPS banquet last week. In earlier posts, I introduced this year’s Dr. Dolittle Travel awardee as well as Dr. Stanley Hillman, this year’s August Krogh Distinguished Lecturer. Here are the rest of award recipients:


The New Investigator Award was earned by Dr. Allyson Hindle from Massachusetts General Hospital (pictured above). This award is designed to recognize an outstanding early career Comparative and Evolutionary Physiologist. Her research focuses on the physiology of organisms living in extreme environments. Specifically, she studies diving seals as well as hibernating mammals. She is also interested in experiencing extreme environments herself. In fact, she is currently an astronaut candidate in the Canada Space Agency!

Research Recognition Awards are given to young investigators to recognize meritorious research in the field of Comparative and Evolutionary Physiology. This year’s recipients are:

Image result for alex clifford ubc

  • Alexander M. Clifford, a postdoctoral fellow in the lab of Dr. Chris Wood at the University of British Columbia. His research focuses on acid/base balance in teleost fish. 

  • Rachel M. Heuer, a postdoctoral Research Associate working with Dr. Martin Grosell and Dr. Dane Crossley at the University of Miami-RSMAS where she studies the effects of crude oil on cardiac physiology of mahi-mahi. 

Linnea on ice.jpg

  • Linnea E. Pearson, a postdoctoral fellow in the lab of Dr. Heather Liwanag at California Polytechnic State University – San Louis Obispo. Her research takes her to the Antarctic where she is studying the physiology of how Weddell seal pups regulate their body temperature in such an extreme environment.

The Novo Nordisk Foundation Travel Award is awarded to outstanding graduate or undergraduate students working in the field of comparative and evolutionary physiology. This year’s recipients are:

Image result for anthony basile arizona state university

  • Anthony J. Basile, a doctoral student in the lab of Dr. Karen Sweazea at Arizona State University where he studies the evolution of naturally high blood sugar in birds.

Image result for mauricio vallejo wright state university

  • Maurico Vallejo, a graduate student in the lab of Dr. Lynn Hartzler at Wright State University where he studies the neurophysiology of respiration.

Categories: Comparative Physiology, Physiology on the Road, Space Physiology

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s